Need advice to improve score

dhuze

NES Member
An island surrounded by land on three sides
Ok I shoot in a service rifle match. I cannot seem to improve my slow prone score. I have been shooting between 180 and 185 for the last 3 years and I cannot improve any. Does anybody have any tips I might be able to look into, to improve? Any suggestions will be appreciated. There are times when I can tell you for sure I shot an X ring. There are other times when I thought it was an X only to find out otherwise. I cant tell the difference between the two, but I know I subconciously notice it since I know for certain when I take some shots.

I'm not sure how you use your sights but the proper way would be to focus on the front, then focus on the rear making sure you are in the center then go back to the front and shoot. Make sure you are taking a couple of good deep breaths before each shot. Between shots make sure you are not watching the targets, but resting your eyes by looking away at a contrasting colored object. This is what I teach my junior shooters with very good eye sight, as we get older we need to rest. Also your aperture should be around a 40 with a .062 or .072 front blade. Hope it helps. PM me if you wish.