• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

New rig Yaesu FTDX10

CatSnoutSoup

NES Member
So the rig I have been using since around 2008, when I bought it new, is an Icom IC-756Pro III. Great transceiver but it was first introduced in 2003 and in fact production ended in 2009.

Obviously technology has come a long way since then and I decided I wanted to try something with modern digital signal processing.

So today I swung by HRO in Salem NH and bought a Yaesu FTDX10.

I will unbox it tonight or tomorrow and give it a spin. It gets great technical reviews although some folks complain about the button positioning, in particular the band change button close up to the outer tuning/function ring.

Does anyone here own one of these?

X0waCem.png

KLiqs8N.jpg

🐯

I have it and it's awesome. But that's comparing to a mobile rig I was using in the house. But it is really nice. Congrats.

I wished I had gotten the speaker but I was cheap and didn't. I might get that in the future, though.

One of the first things I did was update the firmware. One of the quirks was the band menu would time out ridiculously fast and I'd miss and press whatever was on the screen instead of the band menu. The firmware update fixed that. For some reason everyone on the internet made it out to be a big deal and it was not hard at all. I just did what Yaesu said to do.

A waterfall is nice. I do not get the 3D waterfall. I tried a couple times but I don't get it. I thought having a waterfall would make using a non-waterfall radio awful but I don't even notice it. It's just a different form of hunt and peck. The thing I like the most about the waterfall is that you can see where there's a big area of noise and avoid it.