Newb question - Who makes better QUALITY ammo?

I'm new to carrying a firearm and can;t find any definitive answers on what companies make better quality ammo vs. worse quality. Notice I said "quality", that doesn't necessarily mean the most expensive, nor the cheapest. More like, who's ammo isn't the dirtiest, is the most accurate, has the most consistency, etc. This is for mostly range ammo and practicing, but daily carry ammo suggestions are also welcome.

This is for a 9mm Shield by the way.

Thanks.

Are you talking range ammo or personal protection. You will get many different opinions as everyone has their favorite. For me if i am buying ammo I like federal products. I make most of my ammo

For personal defense Federal HST is widely recognized as the standard, can't go wrong

I make all my own 9mm FMJ

most manufactures have levels of quality among their lines of products.
Some might see a higher degree of function, accuracy or quality of the material used.

My only suggestion is find the ammo you and your platform like and by as much of the same lot # as you can.... what runs well now might change during the next production run.

Given your location, you won't beat qmmo.net for accuracy at a decent price . . . this is for "shooting" ammo. CCW, HST and Gold Dots are the gold standards used by LE and are very consistent.

I like Speer Gold Dot for self defense.
For plinking and target shooting bulk ammo and reloads work just fine. If you are shooting for score you will need better ammo, but most pistol shoots shot for time, not shot for score.
Honestly most ammo will shoot out of a handgun better than most people can.

For Protection: Hornady Critical Duty

For Range: "What Ever Is The Cheapest Available" Cheaper ammo, means I can buy more and practice more.

Plus cheaper ammo teaches you to deal with occasional malfunctions.

Too many people at the range seem to not how to properly deal with malfunctions.

PRACTICE PRACTICE PRACTICE