• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

NFA trust - Mass and New Hampshire - Supressor

I have looked around extensively, and I believe this situation is very possible and legal within the confines of a NFA trust

I, for now am still stuck in Mass. I have a LTC. I owe property in NH but do not reside there yet.

My brother and shooting partner lives in NH.

If we setup a NFA trust we can both purchase on behalf of the trust Supressors provided they are stored in and never enter Mass EVEN THOUGH I'M STILL A MASS RESIDENT.

This would in theory also apply to SBS, SBR and DD but NOT machine guns as I can't get a permit.

Does this sound correct?

He would have to do the paperwork as it is just like buying a gun, but once it is owned by the trust, any trustee can use it within the confines of the law to their heart's content.

Last edited:
I have looked around extensively, and I believe this situation is very possible and legal within the confines of a NFA trust

I, for now am still stuck in Mass. I have a LTC. I owe property in NH but do not reside there yet.

If we setup a NFA trust we can both purchase on behalf of the trust Supressors provided they are stored in and never enter Mass EVEN THOUGH I'M STILL A MASS RESIDENT.

This would in theory also apply to SBS, SBR and DD but NOT machine guns as I can't get a permit.

Does this sound correct?

You could buy a machine gun in the trust as well. As Ed noted the original buyer would have to be a NH resident. The trust does not care that you live in Mass.

While the trust does not care that you live in MA, the new rules (ATF Final Rule 41F) require sending a notification to your local chief of police.