NH Gun Laws

I had a non-resident LTC in New Hampshire back in the late '80s if I recall correctly. Basically just a piece of paper I think it's in my toolbox down in Florida now. Is others have said in this thread or other threads you don't need it but it covers your backside on a couple of technicalities like school zones and it used to be you needed one to have a firearm on you on a all-terrain vehicle but someone said that law has changed but don't quote me I'm not a lawyer

How long has NH had a LTC for non residents? I am in Mass and got my NH non resident LTC ...I assume it's new in NH?
It’s always been an option; however, the “resident” and “non-resident” license weren’t a thing before shall-issue in 1959.

Before 1959…

NH was may issue for concealed carry until 1959. You were able to carry openly (even in a vehicle) without a license. Anyone could apply to any police chief or magistrate for a discretionary license. They were valid for 1 year IIRC.

1959 to 2017….

NH became shall issue for concealed carry. You needed a license to carry in a vehicle. police chiefs and mayors/town selectmen became the licensing officers for residents and only residents of that jurisdiction could apply. Non-residents of NH now had to apply to the state police; which before 1959, had no ability to issue.

Big day tomorrow for NH gun grabbers! Need to ask you all to take 5 mins and log your positions….

Go here:
The New Hampshire House of Representatives

Select: Feb 2nd
Select: House Criminal Justice & Public Safety

Here are the bills and suggestions (note this is from a gun grabber site so I corrected):

9:30 a.m. HB 1050-FN, relative to establishing a voluntary waiver of the right to purchase a firearm. This bill allows for a voluntary do-not-sell list. SUPPORT OPPOSE

10:00 a.m. HB 1186-FN, relative to firearm purchaser’s privacy. This bill prohibits the assigning of a specific merchant code to the sale of firearms, ammunition, or firearm accessories. OPPOSE SUPPORT