Nighthawk Customs 1911 Build - 10mm or 45acp?

Looking to dive into a semi custom 1911 from Nighthawk Customs. Pistol will be a single stack, 5” build, and I’m pretty sure a Shadow Hawk.

Where I’m stuck is caliber.

I am just getting into 10mm as I have always been intrigued in the caliber. A (4” M&P)

I don’t have anything in 45acp

I have a Dillon Square deal on the way for reloading for 10mm, but it would be an easy swap for 45acp large primer on the press so that’s not a problem.

Does 10mm lend itself to a 1911? Does it beat up the gun? This pistol will be shot and won’t be a safe queen.

From what I'm seeing, you won't regret either option. If you want to go 10mm, get that one (first). You can always get another in 45ACP later. ;)

Now I'm lusting after their TRS Commander (been looking for something in 9mm that I'll enjoy shooting). Need to look into their lead times and such before I decide.

From what I'm seeing, you won't regret either option. If you want to go 10mm, get that one (first). You can always get another in 45ACP later. ;)

Now I'm lusting after their TRS Commander (been looking for something in 9mm that I'll enjoy shooting). Need to look into their lead times and such before I decide.
Old Glory in Greenville NH is verifying lead time tomorrow, they had stopped taking orders at one point. They have a a pair of 9mm in stock, i believer one was a commander size, I didn’t look hard as it wasn’t the caliber I was looking for.

the only reason nowadays to own anything in .45 would be a purely sentimental reason. 10mm wins in every aspect over .45, but, something like a classic 1911 really wants to be in .45.
a 2011 gun - can be a different story.