• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

No ammo for competition.

Knob Creek

NES Member
I’m starting up some matches at my club next month. I’ve been reloading for 40 years or so and smart enough to have enough components and loaded ammo on hand so I’m not affected. I ran into a couple shooters that said they won’t be shooting this year because they are having a difficult time getting ammunition and what they do get they want to hold on to. Anyone else seeing this?

I’m starting up some matches at my club next month. I’ve been reloading for 40 years or so and smart enough to have enough components and loaded ammo on hand so I’m not affected. I ran into a couple shooters that said they won’t be shooting this year because they are having a difficult time getting ammunition and what they do get they want to hold on to. Anyone else seeing this?
What does @drgrant call these guys again? Johnny Two-Box? Anyone other than casual shooters should always have a good amount on hand and/or the means to load it. If not, then you have to pay whatever you get stuck paying.

I know a couple of shooters who never have more than maybe 100-200 rounds of ammo on hand at any time. They buy a few boxes before the range, and don't keep much else laying around. Given the volatility of the industry, seems like madness to me.

I have a ton of crap bulk ammo, but I actually don't have that much ammo that I would use for competition. I was going to start reloading, but my basement refinish project isn't done and currently all that stuff is boxed up in storage waiting.

Life sucks when you're always viewing it looking backwards out your ass. This ammo issue has been around for over a decade now.
Anyone who didn't stock up during the plentiful times is just shit out of luck.