• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Non mass compliant handguns

Status
Not open for further replies.

SOF

Can anyone direct me as to what the law is in Massachusetts (I am a mass resident) as it relates to carrying and/or defending myself with a handgun that is not mass compliant ? I have a class A Ltc

Check the Dept of Public Safety website but that will tell you only what dealer's can sell not what you can own. Mag capacity and a few other things for semi autos might jam you up in that situation.

Last edited:
Can anyone direct me as to what the law is in Massachusetts (I am a mass resident) as it relates to carrying and/or defending myself with a handgun that is not mass compliant ? I have a class A Ltc
There are no such laws. When you say "mass compliant" as it relates to a handgun, I assume you are referring to MGL 140 123 para 18-21 and 940CMR16 which are all restrictions on MA DEALERS, not gun owners. The only "compliant" that exists is that it is not an assault weapon.

Last edited:
short of a having a post 6/94 high capacity magazine in your gun, there is no restriction on what you can carry or use WRT handguns.

Any rules regulations or made up out of thin air regulations only apply to dealer sales

short of a having a post 6/94 high capacity magazine in your gun, there is no restriction on what you can carry or use WRT handguns.

Any rules regulations or made up out of thin air regulations only apply to dealer sales
I'm sure it was a typo, but for the uninformed the date is September, not June, 94.

There are no such laws. When you say "mass compliant" as it relates to a handgun, I assume you are referring to MGL 140 123 para 18-21 and 940CMR16 which are all restrictions on MA DEALERS, not gun owners. The only "compliant" that exists is that it is not an assault weapon.
Best answer. Applies to Dealer sales only.