Non resident legality of OC pepper spray

My wife is in the process of changing jobs and is not very familiar with the area she is going to be working in. She has no interest in carrying a gun at the time but she would like to get a pepper spray. The problem is she will be working in MA. I was under the impression that the only non resident permit available from MA was an LTC-A and that MA residents need an FID even to carry pepper spray. Please tell me I'm wrong and stupid and she can carry pepper spray without a license (which to me would be common sense).

Yeap, she needs a LTC. She can't carry without it. There is/was a bill trying to make it so you don't need an LTC....but I don't know what happened to it.

You've got to be f'in kidding me. She has no intention to carry a firearm why should she have to sit through a firearms safety class and pay for a license to carry firearms. What is the penalty for her carrying a pepper spray without a permit?

Ok, I'm not a lawyer (as ya'll know), but I was trying to find the penalties and came across this in MGL Chapter 140, Section 121:
“Ammunition”, cartridges or cartridge cases, primers (igniter), bullets or propellant powder designed for use in any firearm, rifle or shotgun. The term “ammunition” shall also mean tear gas cartridges, chemical mace or any device or instrument which contains or emits a liquid, gas, powder or any other substance designed to incapacitate.

Now I think I recall one of the lawyers on the board state that it was legal for non-residents to be in possession of ammunition? If that really was true, then doesn't that mean pepper spray falls under ammunition, which falls under non-residents may possess without a license? Or is there something I am missing here.

You've got to be f'in kidding me. She has no intention to carry a firearm why should she have to sit through a firearms safety class and pay for a license to carry firearms.[?]