Ok I want to get into this where do I start?

I want to get into some competitive shooting (IDPA, steel plate challenges etc)
I've been shooting for a couple of years now and I'd love to "hone" my skills some more.
this seems like a great way to go, are there any clubs in MASS where you can go and learn
how these matches work and more importantly ....practice?
SInce I've never done anything like this before I'm kind of clueless about IDPA and USPSA
I know there are some matches at the Harvard sportsmans club, any others near by to Deham?
I've got an M&P PC9L red dot incoming and I'm most likely going to grab a Mark III or IV competition 22
MY club: Massapoag has pistol comps once a month. I walked into lasts month (unknowing it was going on I just hit the range to shoot) and the guys there were having a blast, so I'm going to start there but I'd like to do some steel plate etc
once I get accustomed to my new 9L. Are there any "intro to IDPA" type of classes ever run locally
I guess my real question sis "where can I train to do this locally"?

Last edited:
If you are in Dedham you aren't that far from Bedford, MA. Woburn Sportsmen's Association in Bedford runs IDPA and USPSA matches and practices. Practices are a good way to get started. Woburn Sportsmen has practices on the second and fourth Sunday of every month at 4pm during the Summer months. Got to this link to see what you need. But even if you don't have everything just show up and people will help you get started.

Harvard Sportsmen's club is also a very good club for action shooting. They allow you to draw from a holster and do you own practicing in their action pits outside of organized practices. Though they do have organized IDPA/IPSIC practices on Wednesday nights, I think.

Last edited:
Rob Boudrie and Ipscdrl here on the forum do this sort of stuff. Reach out to them.

they are among many other active competitive pistols shooters on this forum.