Out of state LTC holder question

Hey guys,

Within the last year I have received my Out of state ltc from CT. I am a Mass resident with a class A ltc as well.

My question is, my brother wants to sell me a few of his firearms from CT; a bolt action and a pump shotgun- what is needed for me to buy and take possession of these guns? I know I have to register them in MA within 10 days, but if I have my CT Out Of State LTC , can I do a private transfer? Or do we have to go through a FFL?

Thanks in advance guys!

Under federal law you have to be residents of the same state for him to sell long guns to you. You will need to go to a CT FFL to be compliant with federal law.

Resident of same state for private sales not involving FFLs. Long guns can be transferred through any state's FFL for sales between out of state residents. Handguns must be sold/transferred through your home state FFL and cannot take place out of state.

Hey guys,

Within the last year I have received my Out of state ltc from CT. I am a Mass resident with a class A ltc as well.

My question is, my brother wants to sell me a few of his firearms from CT; a bolt action and a pump shotgun- what is needed for me to buy and take possession of these guns? I know I have to register them in MA within 10 days, but if I have my CT Out Of State LTC , can I do a private transfer? Or do we have to go through a FFL?

Thanks in advance guys!

Not to be a stickler, but you have 7 days, not 10, to register them in MA.

As others have said, in order for your brother to sell you the long guns you must go to an FFL. Since they're long guns the transfer can take place in either state (assuming CT doesn't have some state-specific law that prohibits FFLs transferring to non-CT residents).

If you do the transfer in CT you'll need to do the eFA10 within 7 days of bringing them to MA. If you do the transfer in MA the dealer will record the transfer in MIRCS so you won't have to register them.