• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

piston kits

If one was interested in a piston conversion kit for a AR, which would you use? and why!

What is the advantage of the piston drive verses the DI set up? I am relatively new to AR's and am trying to weigh my options for goodies. Im a function over form kind of guy.

Dom

Piston- they tend to run cleaner, no gases and crap being blown back, you may feel a bit more recoil, but were only talking a 5.56 round, added cost.
DI System- dirtier, keep your gun wet, it's a proven system and just keep shooting.
There is no difference in accuracy, however, with a DI system and perceived higher recoil, one may have a few milliseconds delay in second shot or more acquisition, not something that should concern the average range shooter.
I heard from someone once that the piston system is a great solution to a non existent problem.

I just put an ar together and went with the Adams Arms piston kit. Gun runs like a top and receiver, bolt, carrier, trigger area all stay CLEAN. I got both DI and piston and greatly prefer the piston setup. Other then staying cleaner I don't see any other really big difference unless clean means better. It does to me. Reliability wise they both run. So to sum it up, in my view, piston runs clean. That's the only difference I see.

Yeah, I would never run a piston system dry. On a hot day, I seized 2 different systems. An AA and a LMT BCG after multiple mag dumps. While other people with DI systems ran fineYMMV.

Sent from my SGH-T999 using Tapatalk 2

Last edited:
i like cleanliness! less cleaning means more fun, or added reliability should i need to use it in an emergency.

I have heard great things about the Adams kit, as well as a company called Osprey. any thoughts boys?

Dom

- - - Updated - - -

UH OH!!!!! Here we go!!![popcorn]

This one will be going full retard very soon!