• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Really stupid question

DarkJoker33

NES Member
I have zero knowledge of reloading.

But as usual, it'd be nice to get into it at the future.

I saw a tik tok that tickled my brain and it was about reloading for 300 blackout.

And since 7.62x39 is so similar, I didn't know if the same process could be done.

Using .223/5.56 brass and reloading it for 7.62x39.

Mentioned tik tok
UncleSlam_138 on TikTok

thanks in advance

Can’t be done. Way different case.
You need to buy brass or possibly convert some some other brass in about 27 difficult steps yielding something that cost about 400x the cost of 7.62x39

Just shoot the blackout it’s way better than 7.62 any day. 😈

I just started reloading.
9mm to start because I shoot it and it's fairly easy.

Now onto your question.
300 BLK is based off of a shortened and renecked 5.56x45 case. You can do that and many do. Or you can buy once fired or new brass and just reload that while you get used to the process.

7.62x39 is a different case altogether. Different base. Different primer size.
I have dies for that cartridge as well as used brass but haven't got that far yet.

I just started reloading.
9mm to start because I shoot it and it's fairly easy.

Now onto your question.
300 BLK is based off of a shortened and renecked 5.56x45 case. You can do that and many do. Or you can buy once fired or new brass and just reload that while you get used to the process.

7.62x39 is a different case altogether. Different base. Different primer size.
I have dies for that cartridge as well as used brass but haven't got that far yet.
Thanks

I have zero knowledge of reloading.

But as usual, it'd be nice to get into it at the future.

I saw a tik tok that tickled my brain and it was about reloading for 300 blackout.

And since 7.62x39 is so similar, I didn't know if the same process could be done.