• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

recomend a 2 meter radio antenna combo

As everyone knows I am very new to this. I am already frustrated with the uv-5R and want to get something a little better.
I don't want to spend a ton of cash but would like to get something I can use on the bench at home and also throw in the car if need be. There are way to many options for me to make an intelligent decision on my own.
i am also not opposed to used if someone is getting rid of something.

Thanks

Chet, some one with more knowledge and higher standards will disagree with me, but I look at it quite simply. There's Yaesu, Icom, Kenwood and a few others. They are all different, but all pretty much the same,and you get what you pay for. The features vs. cost plot a pretty straight line. More fancy features = more $. Don't blow the budget unless you've really got the disease and think you'll be getting all geeked-out and want to get into the really fancy and digital stuff (cross-band repeater, APRS, DSTAR, etc) a basic mobil rig will get you talking. Get a 2M/70cm. Don't worry too much about the 1.2M band. There's only a little action on that band, so unless you have friends on that band, skip it.

Of course you could bite the bullet and get something like an FT-857. It will do it all.