• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

reloading for rifle

peterk123

NES Member
I am very comfortable reloading 9mm, 38 special and 357 mag loads. I am still a relative beginner but have about 40,000 rounds or so under my belt. But I have yet to do rifle loads.

I have two presses, a lee turret and a hornady progressive. Do you guys use a single stage or is a progressive used for loading rifle? I could always use the hornady as a single stage press.

Don't have the dies yet, heck I don't even have a rifle yet. Just trying to figure things out.

Thanks Pete

I use a single stage for loading rifle. If you're already comfortable then you shouldn't have a problem doing rifle, its just a couple of extra steps really. The Lee turret works fine as a single stage too if you want
If your reloading tappered shells like 223 dont you need a special tool to grind down the neck to correct the overall length?

single stage so you can tweedle in the powder to the scale grain-by-grain.

a case trimmer is used for when the necks get stretched (lube inside neck & expander ball will stretch 'em less)

which calibres?

If your reloading tappered shells like 223 dont you need a special tool to grind down the neck to correct the overall length?
it is a good thing to have a case trimmer, yes. don't be afraid to purchase this stuff on the secondary market either. i've seen some honkin' good deals in the classifieds here on nes when someone is getting out of reloading.

I guess it would depend on what you want out of your ammo. Progressive if you just want lots of "range ammo." Single stage if you want precision, whether that be for hunting or competition or just because. If you want precision (or even not) see if EddieCoyle is holding his Precision Rifle Reloading class. It was excellent.

I single stage hand prep my brass.