Rifle case lube

radioman

NES Member
I've been reloading for 30+ years. Most all that I do is pistol so no need for lube. I do reload my 300 WinMag but I just resize the neck because it's for a bolt gun and the cases are for that gun only. I only need a very small amount of lube for that caliber.

I just started reloading 308win. It's for my AR10. Since it's a semi auto the cases need to be full length resized. Also since it's a semi-auto it's very hungry. I'm going to be in the hundreds of cases. I don't want to be paying big money for store bought lube. Does anybody have a home recipe for a lube I can put in a spray bottle? I'd like to get away from rolling each case on a lube pad. I find this method slow and your always rubbing your hands on a rag so as not to contaminate your reloading machines. I've used commercial spray lube before but I don't know how to reproduce it. I use single stage presses. Any help will be greatly appreciated. Thank you

Lanolin mixed with ISO-HEET (red bottle, the auto dept at your local WalMart is likely the cheapest place). About a 1:8-1:10 mix, depending on personal preference for how "thick" you want it. (Thats 1 part lanolin to 8-10 parts ISO-HEET)

The other types of HEET contain methanol and are very toxic. Make sure you buy the red one, it's Isopropyl Alcohol.

Last edited:
The lanolin I see for sale looks to be a solid at room temp? Is that what you use? I do see liquid lanolin but that's big money over 2 bucks an ounce. The ISO-HEAT is that 100% isopropyl?

You need the liquid stuff. With 1oz making 8-10 ounces of lube, it goes a long way.

ISO-HEET is 99% if i remember correctly.

IIRC there's no point in buying ISO-HEET because any 99% isopropyl basically absorbs moisture from the air and lowers its concentration anyways.

The concentration and ratio of alcohol just determines how quickly the alcohol evaporates -- ie, how soon after spraying them can you size them.