• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Rifle Competitions with an AR-15 ?

I am new to rifle shooting.
I have an AR-15.
I was looking at the rifle competitions. From what I have read,it seems most competitions require a larger caliber than.223.
Also no muzzle break.
I was looking at the Reading 2011 schedule.
Is there any format for the AR type rifle?

Thanks, Mike

Well, since you have IDPA right in your name, I'll mention there are occasionally action-style rifle matches or side-matches around here.

I am new to rifle shooting.
I have an AR-15.
I was looking at the rifle competitions. From what I have read,it seems most competitions require a larger caliber than.223.
Also no muzzle break.
I was looking at the Reading 2011 schedule.
Is there any format for the AR type rifle?
Yes. You can shoot Service Rifle using an AR, at both Reading and Woburn.

Check these calenders, there are a few straight rifle matches, and a few multi-gun matches as well.

http://independentclub.homestead.com/2011ClubCalendar.html

http://www.uspsa-ne.org/matches.asp

Nauset runs a Zombie Rifle/Carbine match for Halloween that was a blast this past year. The club president told me it was going to be an annual event.

A .223/5.56 gun is ideal for these matches, that is what I have been using. Just make sure you have a few mags and mag pouches/holders.

Any of the Highpower matches listed in the "Rifle Competition" forum will allow .223. In fact, just about everybody does use a .223 AR of some sort.

If you go to the Reading Rifle web page and open the 2011 Match Schedule then click on the blue lettering it will give you the match bulletin.

I have been to many IDPA matches, and have never seen a rifle match
I have shot at Harvard and Pehlham.