• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

SAAMI spec 9mm +p ammo and semi auto handgun damage/accelerated wear

The pressure limit for 9mm ammo is 35001 (?) psi for +p there is a slight increase to 38500. To my knowledge all makers of sliders caution against routine use of +p stating that either the gun will be damaged or accelerated wear will occur.

Accepting that the makers of the semi auto most probably know what they are talking about I ask the experts here how can such an insignificant increase in pressure cause such concerns by those who have designed and manufactured the gun?

Regular 9mm doesn’t necessarily build max pressure, while +p likely approaches the limit, so the difference on average is likely greater than 10%.

I’m no expert on the matter but just think of how fotays beat themselves up compared to 9mms.

Even if you loaded 9mm to the bleeding edge you would get tens of thousands of rounds out of a pistol. The cost of the gun pails in comparison to the cost of the ammo. So its negligible. A commercial +P load is nothing compared to how far you can push a reload and run them all day. I've put some ladder test rounds thru my G34 with Titegroup that were WELL above the max listed without even piercing a primer. The recoil becomes ridiculous before you even really start flowing primer cups.

Even if you loaded 9mm to the bleeding edge you would get tens of thousands of rounds out of a pistol. The cost of the gun pails in comparison to the cost of the ammo. So its negligible. A commercial +P load is nothing compared to how far you can push a reload and run them all day. I've put some ladder test rounds thru my G34 with Titegroup that were WELL above the max listed without even piercing a primer. The recoil becomes ridiculous before you even really start flowing primer cups.

This...