• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

SBR-ing, and Pre-Ban 'Proof'

Hello All,

Member of a few other groups for a while but first post here. Should have joined earlier since I'm a CT resident and there's so much info/discussion specific to our draconian restrictions. Forgive the length of my first post, but it's detailed. I know there have been other Pre-ban threads, but I think this is specific to right now.

Anyway, I recently picked up another pre-ban AR lower, my third, with the plans of SBR-ing one of them in light of the possible looming new rulings on pistol braced firearms (of which I have several as 'others'). Plus it will give me more options for future suppressed configurations without the minimum barrel length issues of an 'other'.

As of now I have a PWA Commando, an EA J-15 and just got an Olympic SGW 'stop sign' lower. As some may know, I first have to get an 'assault weapons certificate' from state police before applying to ATF, and for that I apparently need documented verification from the manufacturer of its date of production. Only thing is that none of these manufacturers are still around to provide that. Yes, there's a good deal of info online that lists dates of manufacture, but.....

- PWA (who no longer exist as a manufacturer) had all their info taken over by Lewis Machine and Tool who no longer have those records (contacted twice).

- EA Just closed shop for good earlier this year (and I'm majorly p-o-ed at myself for not doing it last year on that one), and no-one's available via phone.

- Olympic Arms doesn't even have a working website any more, plus they've got some issues with losing records in a fire as detailed in a link below.

The only way to verify the pre-ban status of these lowers according to serial # are online sources such as this....