• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Scope for CZ 457 pro varmint

Which scope should I buy?

• Vortex Diamondback Tactical 6-24X50 FFP

Votes: 1 12.5%
  • Element HELIX 6-24×50 FFP

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Athlon ARGOS BTR GEN2 6-24×50 APLR2 FFP

Votes: 5 62.5%
  • Arken SH4 6-24X50 GEN2 FFP MIL VPR

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Otherr

Votes: 2 25.0%

• Total voters

nightpoison

NES Member
So I'm about to buy a new rifle and I'll need a scope to go along with it. Optics is an area I have little experience with. I understand the tech, but I have no experience with using any other than my Nikon P22 that sits on my 10/22. So just looking for some recommendations.

The scope will be on a CZ 457 pro varmint. It will be used for general plinking and hope to get out and participate in some PRS Rimfire events or other such events.

I'll be shooting regularly at 50 to 100 yards at my home range, but what the events I will attend will have for course of fire will depend. My understanding is 50 to 200 is the average, but could be more. I have no idea

I'm interested in hitting the $1200 production price point, mainly to cap my initial budget. Reading so many other forums I usually find the most common response is to just go Open class and buy a better scope. Well, I don't want to spend more. This is my budget for this build. Its just an excuse for future builds.

here are some of the more common scopes recommend that I'm interested in. They all appear to be quility for the money, solid builds, and good warranties. I'm leaning towards the Vortex, for warranty and name. It's probably the common recommendation in the range. The Element appears to be another solid option followed by the Athlon. The Arken is the new kid on the block with mixed reviews. They seem to be pushing the brand on YouTube with a lot of sponsorships. It's intriguing.