• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Serious life choices need to be made.

DarthRevan

NES Member
So, I have my associates degree from NSCC in Science with an EE focus. I'm not sure if I want to do this anymore after just having the life sucked out of me from working and going to school, and not having enough money for the lifestyle I hope to one day have. I get the argument that being half way I should just finish but thats another can of worms I've already talked about on Off-Topic.
I've been interested in possibly becoming a LEO either in MA or NH. I've looked at the physical requirements to pass the tests and they aren't impossible (biggest concern being bench presses but its a work in progress). I like the idea of protecting people, driving for hours, and not just working for a paycheck. I want to come home at the end of the day and feel like I've done some good. I also hate the idea of being stuck behind a desk pushing paper for the rest of my life.

Not going to lie, $40-50k starting pay doesn't sound horrible either. I need to start finding a job I can make a living on, not just having enough for gas and food each week. Some direction is needed.

I have no training other than going to the range with a former SF who has fueled my passion for firearms and many days at the range getting great pointers on how to handle and fire pistols and rifles.

Last edited:
If you can't get your foot through the door with a PD, consider backfiring the system via corrections. It's a good start to build your resume and contacts. Follow your heart and best of luck!

NH Staties were 1.1x body weight. I'm about 255, so that 275-280 depending what I weigh in at that morning. Push-ups were 35, 41 sit-ups in a minute, and a 1.5 mile run in under 11:40 mins.