Target Type and Distance Question

I am new to shooting and want to know how far I should send the target; 7 yards? 10 yards? (I use standard paper size 8.5X11 sheets) for a .22 and a 9mm.

Also, what type of target is best. I have been using the full-sheet circular target with a red center, but I have seen sheets with 4 triangles on them and ones with rows of dots.

Thanks!

Last edited:
I would start at 5 yards and get more distance when your shots are grouping nice and tight. Of course, at times the distance is dictated by the gun club. E.G: at MRA, there is 10 yard minimum on the indoor range.
I use paper plates for targets. Sometimes I would put a black circle in the middle of an aiming point, but blank paperplates work too. Just aim for the center.
Rows of dots can be used for drills, as well, but I would wait for the drills until you group well.

I am new to shooting and want to know how far I should send the target; 7 yards? 10 yards? (I use standard paper size 8.5X11 sheets) for a .22 and a 9mm.

Also, what type of target is best. I have been using the full-sheet circular target with a red center, but I have seen sheets with 4 triangles on them and ones with rows of dots.

Thanks!

i suppose the type of target used depends on the type of shooting you're trying to improve at.

i'm somewhat limited because the club i belong to is a 50ft indoor range (havent found a club local worth joining. harvard is too far to justify, Woburn is great, but doesnt prorate membership based on time of year, so if i join, it'll be in october when dues renew...and Reading, well, thats a goal, but they seem to have a 10year waiting list for new members)

personally, if im drilling myself on repeatability, i put up a blank sheet of paper, and shoot a hole it in....and subsequently try to put the rest of my shots through that same hole.

practicing for PPC, i used the reduced 50yard B27 targets (silhouette-style) @ 50ft and shoot for nothing but X's.