Under $1,500

Hello All,
I'm new to the gun world. I've only been shooting at the range for 2 months. But I've been putting 4 hours a week in and I'm hooked. My #1 reason for getting into pistol shooting is to enjoy the competition. Self defense is a low 2nd.
So, being an overwhelmed newby with so many options out there, I felt a need to turn to the forum community for help on picking my first firearm.
What's a great 9mm pistol for the range and eventually competition under $1500? (Maybe I can stretch that a little if needed). I'm willing to customize. But, I don't need an optic, laser, or a light attached right now. Also I live in CT where owners are limited to 10 round mags.
Hammer fire or striker fire doesn't matter. I like the HK USP and vp9 (altho the VP9 feels a little gritty to me), the PPQ (super smooth trigger with a great snap. Very comfortable. But terrible sights and short site radius). Wilson combat's 1911s are amazing and S&W 1911 are great too. But my thumb can't reach the slide release on full size 1911s. They actually feel overall a little too big in my hands. Glock triggers hurt b/c of the trigger safety that doesn't fully depress (I cud always replace the trigger tho I guess). I haven't tried the q5 Match yet. But I hear it's the same as the PPQ, just longer.
Basically I've been to several different gun shops and ranges and tested a lot of different options. Nothing feels 100% right. Maybe I shud just get a Glock and customize the hell out of it? Or, maybe the 5in PPQ with the new apex trigger? Or a single stack 9mm dan Wesson 1911 (single stack since I'm limited to rounds in CT and the smaller handle might help the 1911 feel more natural in my hand)?
Btw, why don't I hear about HK, Walther, or Sig in competitions? I know money isn't an object for serious competitors. Is it that M&P, Glock, and Smith are easier to customize and parts are easier to find?

Any thoughts or comments are welcome.