• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

50 CAL ?

I'm looking to buy one and just woundering what is good brand and model if I'm going to speed that kind of money I should just go all in.Any suggestion?

Armalite has an AR-50A1 for $3400 msrp, Barrett's model 99 is about $3800. Both are single shot bolt guns and probably about the cheapest you'll find. I have no experience with either of these, but have looked into both as possible buys.

Lots of good 50's to choose from, and I would suggest you think outside the Barrett box. State Arms makes a number of great choices that are very well made, accurate and fairly reasonably priced. So does Blue Grass Armory (although in the past they were pretty backlogged and I wouldn't trust them when they tell you what the turnaround will be). Serbu also makes a good and reasonably priced gun. Accuracy International makes a very good, and not so reasonably priced rifle. AR50 is also a popular choice.

If you want a semi-auto you're probably looking at a Barrett - but they are very expensive and you will lose a fair amount of accuracy.

Also, when deciding what your budget is, don't forget to leave a pretty big chunk of money for a scope, mount and rings. And ammo is obviously pricey. And you will want accessories to keep your rifle clean. Unfortunately, when it comes to the .50 pretty much everything associated with it will be pricey. However, the sh** eating grin you will get on your face the first time you pull the trigger is priceless.:)

well looks like I have to look at the hole piture i just know the name Barrett is good but have to save some money for all the accessoories and ammo

I have a Serbu. It's a bolt action single shot but that's OK. I don't need to shoot fast. The only other .50 I've shot is the Barrett. The Barrett shoots softer but costs several times as much as the Serbu.