Am I being given the run around?

albythewhitey

NES Member
I want to join my fathers rod and gun club, and one of the requirements is a local BCI check to determine if I'm a criminal. I need a dated department agency stamp on my application indicating no record. I find this kind of redundant considering I am a holder of a LTC-A with no restrictions. However, so be it. I went down to the local PD today and the dispatcher kindly (HAHAHA) informed me that they cant do BCI checks unless I'm a police officer. I have to go through the state police website and download a form, send them money, and wait 4-6 weeks for a BCI report. Seriously? SERIOUSLY?

I figured it was as simple as him typing my name in and looking me up. Why does everything have to be so difficult? I don't know if hes just making me go through the rigmarole because I'm young and he has something against that. The last time I went, the same dispatcher was on and he was fairly rude when I asked him something minor about my LTC. I just need a STAMP! [rolleyes]

Sorry, I just needed to rant. I've been shooting at AFS in N. Attleboro in the meantime because no one I know has a LTC or a membership at a club. At 20$ a visit, and the cost of their ammo because my lead ammo isn't accepted, it can get pretty pricey. Also, I cant get initiated at my fathers club until the second Monday of the month.. so I'll definitely miss this augusts meeting, and probably Septembers meeting, so by the time I get a membership it will be October! WOW!

Like my father said... hurry up and wait... sigh.

Find a different club. A club background checking a person with a valid MA LTC is absurd. If you have an LTC that is enough for most. Some may require an NRA membership but thats it.

-Mike

Why on earth would a club require a background check if you have a valid Massachusetts LTC? Get a new club, one that doesn't make you waste your money and run around doing unnecessary background checks.