Augason Farms Emergency Food Supply - A Review...

It seems like I'm running into more and more folks just beginning to prep. A sign of the uncertain times? Tinfoil? You be the judge I suppose, but the fact remains: Americans in increasing numbers are stockpiling everything from toilet paper to juice boxes for their own reasons. Prepping is nothing new to me. I've been rotating food stores for a couple of decades. While I'm no expert by any stretch, I do get more than my fair share of inquiries as to prepping and most frequently, what to buy to get going. My answer usually begins with: "Buy something - a can of stew, a pouch of tuna, a bag of rice - anything to get the ball rolling. One needn't buy a pallet of MRE's, (unless you can afford it), to adequately prep for anything that may lay ahead. Generally, a good bucket, some medium to long term food items and a place to store them is all you need, but the key as most of you know is to get the process started in the first place.

It seems more and more, 'big box' is jumping on the bandwagon. Retailers like Costco, BJ's, Sam's Club and others have been offering emergency food preps as part of their retail line for several years. WalMart has joined the fray in the last year or two as well and I spotted one of these buckets at a Wally World near North Reading a few months ago, checked it out and decided to pass. Recently, the Pittsfield store began to stock them, so I had a friend who works there, (wiredp) pick one up for me. I decided that rather than stash it with my other preps, I'd pick it apart piece by piece and offer my opinion on the product and its contents here for your information. Again, I am by no means an 'expert', but I have been in the game long enough to have sampled much of what's out there. I hope that even in a small way, it will shed some light onto the value - fiscally and nutritionally of the Augason Farms Emergency Food Supply...