• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Books for a firearm owner/enthusiast/larper

What books related to firearms or firearm-adjacent have you found interesting, educational, or mind-blowing?
Hopefully, this will become a helpful thread. Here, I'll start:

• "Long Range Shooting Handbook: The Complete Beginner's Guide to Precision Rifle Shooting" by Ryan Kleckner. This book is perhaps the best for anyone wanting to learn about precision shooting. The author explains MOA, MIL, and the difference better than anyone I've read. He has this easy way of explaining terms/tools/techniques without being too technical or academic. He intermingles theory with stories of being an Army Ranger sniper. Easy read, excellent knowledge.
  • "On Killing: The Psychological Cost of Learning to Kill in War and Society" by Dave Grossman. This book delves into human nature regarding killing through the collected research of many scientists and over a century of studies. Killing is the most unnatural thing we, as humans, are capable of doing. If you intend to carry for self-defense, you need to come to terms with the fact that you may be required to kill. This book helps one have a deeper view of killing and whether it is for you or not.
  • "Process and Progress Pistol Training: Proven Methods to Structure Your Practice" by Drew Estell. How do you go about becoming proficient with a pistol? This book is a great resource to help you along your training journey. It doesn't just give you the "how" to shoot or "what" drills to practice. More importantly, it gives you the "why" of everything, helping you become a proficient shooter who knows why some things work and others don't when it comes to training.