• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Comfort and IWB carry

I have been carrying for about 8 months. Mostly with a COMP-TAC CTAC IWB holster supported by a wilderness 3 stitch instructors belt. I usually carry P99C although sometimes I carry a Glock 27.
While at work, I am seated most of the day. I noticed that there are times when I am totally comfortable walking/sitting and then, there are times when it's pure hell sitting down or driving, even if I loosen the belt all the way. I generally tend to keep the gun around 4 - 4:30 and it feels ok. I am of about average build. I wonder what other people's experience with IWB carry is? Is it consistently tolerable or hit and miss like mine? I am actually thinking of trying pocket carry. Speaking of which, does anybody carry glock 26/7 or P99C in a pocket? What holster would you recommend?

Thanks!

IMO IWB carry is not terrible but it does tend to be less comfortable than
OWB carry... but for me that scenario is pretty consistent. The rigs
I have are not "unbearable" at any time.

It almost sounds to me like in your case your holster/gun is shifting position
and maybe ends up being in the "wrong" place making it uncomfortable.

You have to identify what part of your body is being pushed and what part
of the holster is pushing on it and go from there. Sometimes simple
modifications can be made which may greatly improve comfort.

-Mike

Mike, it feels as if the front of the belt is digging into my stomach. Even lossening the belt does not help, and when carrying, I usually wear pants 2 sizes too large. I think you are right about the holster shifting. I may be getting a Pro-Undercover to try.