Help with wording

Just spoke with my licensing officer (Somerville).

He said that he does occasionally remove the restrictions on LTC A's...but he said that I need a year without incident (check!) and a letter in writing stating why I want the right to carry.

I know I know...I shouldn't be having this problem, but WHAT THE HELL DO I SAY. I can't say work, because i'm a teacher, and I can't say that I carry large sums of money...BECAUSE I'M A TEACHER!

I do have a second job that get me out of work real late and puts me driving through the city late at night. But as the captain of a police force he probably takes pride in saying "driving late through my streets is not dangerous".

Help!!

I would play up your upstanding citizen of the community, clean record, never been in any trouble, comopetitive shooting, your knowledge of guns, and all of the safety aspect, etc..

"stating why I want the right to carry"

I would do what Jenlynn said, and explain why you want to exercise your RIGHT as an American.

Provide examples of why you are a level headed, law abiding citizen. Provide a few letters of recommendation? Tell him you haven't received any moving violations in the last XX years. Tell him the best place to keep your firearm safe (from falling into unauthorized hands) is to carry it daily. Tell him about how when you go shooting and afterwards you go to dinner and are forced to leave your gun in the car and are concerned about your car getting stolen.

I would just try to provide as many practical examples as possible as to why you are level headed and law abiding.

Then, let me know how it goes. I'll be doing something similar in a few months.

You want to answer this need as stated in the MGL http://www.mass.gov/legis/laws/mgl/140-131.htm

and that the applicant has good reason to fear injury to his person or property

Simply cite crime in general and that you "fear injury to my person" when [insert example here]