Looking for options on carry ammo.

I am very new to firearms, and I just got my LTC.

So now I am looking to buy a firearm but I can't decide on what caliber to buy a firearm in. I know absolutly nuttin about the types of ammo and calibers, can someone give me some pointers?

I will be carrying a Glock, and it will be for personal protection.
I want to be able to practice a lot also, so I don't want to be spending a lot of money on non carry ammo.

Thanks!

for 9mm carry ammo,

I usually carried 147gr JHP's whenever I found them...

usually Remington Gold Sabre or Federal HST...

for practice shooting

Remington UMC (green box), Whinchester or last resort Blazer. I like the heavier bullets in 9mm (124gr, 147gr) vs. 115gr or anything marked "low recoil"

So now I am looking to buy a firearm but I can't decide on what caliber to buy a firearm in. I know absolutly nuttin about the types of ammo and calibers, can someone give me some pointers?

I want to be able to practice a lot also, so I don't want to be spending a lot of money on non carry ammo.

Thanks!

Just a simple Google search might answer your question.

My strategy? Shoot the biggest bullet you can shoot accurate. But keep in mind the .45ACP-chambered guns usually have smaller magazine capacities than their smaller-chambered counterparts.

Thanks!

I am also new to handguns. In my research over the past month, I decided to go with a .40 Sig. With 9mm, you will spend less in ammo costs. You will have less recoil than a .40 or .45. I based my decision on some friends feedback. Many said to go with the .40 or .45 and to skip the 9mm. I tend to agree after I fired all three of them. The 45 and 40 were both fine for me to handle. They felt more powerful and sounded the same compared to the 9mm. The 9mm IMO was noticeably different with alot less recoil. I will compare the 9mm to a .22 long rifle and the .40 and .45 to a 30-06. Just my .02........