Makarov and Tokarev ammo prices?

DW357

NES Member
So I sent in my C&R application a couple weeks ago and they already debited my account so hopefully it will arrive somewhat soon. But in the mean time I've been looking the P64s, CZ-82s, and the various Tokarev pistols for my first couple C&R purchases.

So it seems like the cheap surplus ammo (9x18 and 7.62x25) for these guns has since dried up. I was at a couple shops in NH last week and they had 9x18 steel case ammo for $16 and brass cased 7.62x25 ammo for $25.

Looking online, cheapest 7.62x25 (which is all brass cased) was going for $20 per box shipped. The cheapest 9x18 ammo (steel cased) I found online, when it gets back in stock, was $13 per box shipped.

I'm new to these guns so I don't want to overpay for ammo. I'll probably buy a P64 or CZ-82 (if I can find one) since the ammo definitely seems to be cheaper for these guns than the Tokarevs.

First off I would go with a cz82 vs the p64. The cz82 is 13 rounds and far better trigger. Also I will add "unless it is broken do not disassemble the cz82 "
Ammo has gone up and the x18 and x25 is no exception.
7.62x25 is a bottle neck cartridge. Back in 2010/11 wolf gold 762x25 was about 18$ shipped for 50 rounds.
I personal have never seen surplus 9x18. The cheapest stuff I ever came across was barnul made in Russia. Was 9$/50 vs 12$/50 back in 2012. I stocked up well enough not to check prices in the past few years.
I really don't shoot my "surplus" pistols asxmuch as I used to ...have not in a over a year. Shoot rifle and shotgun when I get out.
I would like to pick up a another 82. They are nice toss on a set of marchal grips to dress it up a bit.

I was really shocked at the accuracy of my P64 at 50', I'd definitely recommend one since they are readily available right now. I used the Red Army ammo you picked up for me through it and very pleased with the performance.