Massachusetts resident with Maine summer house

It's to my understanding Maine doesn't require an fid card to purchase a rifle. But if I'm a massachusetts resident with a summer home here can I purchase a shotgun to keep at my home here with my MA drivers license?

It's to my understanding Maine doesn't require an fid card to purchase a rifle. But if I'm a massachusetts resident with a summer home here can I purchase a shotgun to keep at my home here with my MA drivers license?

If you are buying from an FFL you will have to fill out a 4473. You must also produce ID. When you produce a MA DL the FFL SHOULD make you produce your FID or LTC from MA as they are expected to NOT sell you anything you are not allowed to possess in your state of residence. Where you keep that shotgun is up to you.

If you are buying from an FFL you will have to fill out a 4473. You must also produce ID. When you produce a MA DL the FFL SHOULD make you produce your FID or LTC from MA as they are expected to NOT sell you anything you are not allowed to possess in your state of residence. Where you keep that shotgun is up to you.

Most of the shops I frequent have no idea what the gun laws are in other states.
Produce an I.D. with a street address (not a PO Box), pass the Federal NICS check, pays your money and walk away with your shotgun.

Most of the shops I frequent have no idea what the gun laws are in other states.
Produce an I.D. with a street address (not a PO Box), pass the Federal NICS check, pays your money and walk away with your shotgun.

I stop in a nice gun shop up in VT once in a while and last time I heard a CA guy trying to buy a handgun. From the conversation they were having, I could tell the VT shop owner had no idea at all about the gun laws in states outside VT. He might have a little of NY's since it's close to the shop but that's it.

- - - Updated - - -