• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Multiple Stances?

Hi All.

I'm new here. Seems like a nice place. I've got a question I'd like to run past you. First, a little personal background to help explain it.

Early on in my shooting career, I fell under the evil influence of Bill Jordan and NO SECOND PLACE WINNER. "I'll take a revolver, YOU take your chances."

I was a wheelgunner for several decades, including several years when I worked as an armored car guard, and I used the Isosceles stance for most of them.

Shortly after we entered the 21st century, I decided that maybe these new-fangled flat guns WERE'NT just a passing fad after all, and I began to transition to them.

As part of this transition, I began taking courses with people like Chuck Taylor, John Farnam, and Louis Awerback; and due to their insistence, began using the Weaver stance.

Last year, I did a class with the Insights people over in Harrisburg PA, and they insisted I shoot it Isosceles. This was OK as long as I took my time and conciously thought about what I was doing, but every time I tried to speed up, I kept automatically reverting to Weaver.

I've done a couple of classes with Ayoob, and am familiar with his thinking on this, which is basicly that a good shooter knows all three stances (including Chapman) and uses the most appropriate one as needed.

However, I'm now thinking that if I want to take my shooting to the next level, fast, reflexive shooting at the expert/master level (or unconcious competence, if you prefer) that I need to pick one stance and do ALL of my practice and training with it. And since I hope to take the Expert level courses with Taylor, Awerback et al in the next couple of years - and I know they are going to demand Weaver - I might just as well not even consider any courses with people who want me to use the Isosceles in their courses.