My shooting inconsistencies are really starting to get on my nerves.

I have been shooting for over two years but I continue to be very inconsistent in placing my shots. I have spent countless hours dry firing my guns and training with snap caps. I have gone through ball and dummy drills. I pay attention to my grip and my trigger pull. Yet, I continue to struggle placing my shots in the center of the target and most of them continue to travel to the left (see target below). I know I can do better than that because I have. During the Intro to IDPA class I was putting all my rounds through the same two holes (head and body) of my target. Then as the day went on my shots started to get farther apart and again drifted to the left. What is my problem? Is it possible that I continue to flinch? I have been working on that and I thought that I had it under control?

Any ideas?

[EDIT] I just looked at a shooting chart and it indicates "too little or too much trigger trigger finger". What the heck does that mean? I always shoot placing the pad of my index finger in such way that the trigger is right in the middle of it.

target.jpg

Last edited:
Maybe your gun is shooting to the left. Have you tried another gun? The upper target and lower target seem to be showing 2 different patterns. Any differnece when shooting those targets. Same stance, ammo? What distance?

I can not give any great advice because I would be ok with those groupings. The bad guy would still be in a bag.

Last edited:
Maybe your gun is shooting to the left. Have you tried another gun? The upper target and lower target seem to be showing 2 different patterns. Any differnece when shooting those targets. Same stance, ammo?

I can not give any great advice because I would be ok with those groupings. The bad guy would still be in a bag.

It is not the gun. I shoot that way with all my guns.

You could have a slight stigmatism.

Here is how you can tell...