purchasing first 1911

Okay guys, my supply of GLOCK juice has temporarily run out. I am currently sipping on the 1911 tea. I somehow got bitten by the bug a few weeks ago and have decided that my next purchase will be a 1911. Now which model to start with? I know that I want a government model. I want something that I can tinker with and that will accept most 1911 custom parts. I ALLLLMOST bought a S&W full size but I figured since the extractor is exclusive to the Smith model, that maybe the internals aren't normal 1911 parts. If the extractor was the only difference from a normal 1911, I would probably pick it up. Again, I'm a total noob when it comes to these guns. Any help would be AWESOME. Thanks!

Here is my old Para broken down for a good cleaning:
DSC00586.jpg

Last edited:
My recommendation would be an older Colt or a Colt clone (such as an Argentine Colt). I "think" that many of the 1911 copies are pretty much interchangeable but you would be better off getting confirmation on any model you check out.

I am sending you a PM with an idea.

First, try and shoot a few models; S&W, Para and SVI are on "The List," but there is a huge used market. Borrow your friends' guns and/or go to a rental range, like AFS.

Para's have a proprietary three-finger spring (it's longer), so you would have to cut a new slot about .10" above the factory one if you wanted to use GI-spec springs (i.e., everyone else's). However, I had little difficulty fitting Wilson Combat slide releases and safeties, or SVI hammers and disconnectors.

As you noted, S&W uses an external extractor (as did the Star copy). I'd bet most of the internals are "swappable," though.

The 1911 and AR-15 are the '55 Chevy / '66 Mustang of the firearms world. Pretty much everything has already been tried and anything that worked is now available in aftermarket form for the rest of us to play with. [wink]
Find a gun you like - the rest can be dealt with later.