• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Recommendation For a course

Im relatively new to shooting, especially pistols, I was wonder what you would course's you would suggest for me that are going on this year? I have never had any real instruction on shooting, I have learned the basics with my googlefu but that is about it. I'm most interested in carbine/pistol!! Thanks -Mark[grin]

Mark, if you can find a basic pistol course that would be your best starting point. You need to learn the basics first (grip/stance/sight alignment/etc.) and it is MUCH easier to learn the correct way first than trying to shake bad habits...and cheaper in the long run.

Im relatively new to shooting, especially pistols, I was wonder what you would course's you would suggest for me that are going on this year? I have never had any real instruction on shooting, I have learned the basics with my googlefu but that is about it. I'm most interested in carbine/pistol!! Thanks -Mark[grin]

How about this:

Free Course

Depending on your current skill/comfortability level, Sig has a Handgun Orientation course for a true beginner and a Basic Practical Handgun course that is the transition to their concealed carry courses. I believe that on some weekends they hold them on a Saturday / Sunday. They are very good courses and much better than the basic NRA.

98 Cobra
Neshooters is offering a Suarez Defensive Pistol Skills coures on April 28 and 29 at the Westford Sportsmen's Club in Westford, MA for $265.00 including all range fees.

Jim,

IIRC 98Cobra is under 21, thus can't possess handguns in MA!

Run the course in NH and he'll be eligible to attend! [wink]

Would I be able to run the coarse if I borrowed a handgun from some1 of age?
Or even overnight my gun to the Range use it, then overnight it to my house [smile]