Shooting and Nursing

My wife's not a member of the forums, so I'm the lucky person who gets deputized to ask... [shocked]

What's known about any dangers of shooting as a nursing mother? There's certainly the possibility for some pretty nasty things to get into your body, either from breathing or from residue on the skin (though of course one would wash ASAP after a shooting session). If you've been in this position, how have you approached it? Just laid off shooting until that phase of your life was over? Shoot, but with extra precautions such as using long sleeves, maybe gloves, and using TMJ ammo so that no lead at all is exposed to either the burning powder or to the rifling of the gun?

My wife would really like to get back into shooting, but the baby's health comes first...

Definitely don't shoot while nursing, at least not without eye and ear protection for the infant [smile]

I'm 6 months pregnant right now, and will be nursing also.

I am an Instructor, and spend lots of time on the range so my lead levels are already elevated, so this is what I've had to do:

1) Haven't gone shooting since we started trying to conceive.

2) Take extra calcium supplements. Lead never leaves your body, it only leaves your blood stream. It binds with calcium and then is stored in your bones. When you need calcium (to make a baby, and to make breast milk you need TONS of calcium) as soon as the circulating calcium is gone your body will use calcium stored in your bones (which will have lead in it [sad2]) so lead will be passed on to baby. If there is extra calcium circulating this will minimize passing lead to the little one.

3) Double wash all range clothing, store all range gear in one area, preferably a closet away from where baby will be, and shower immediately after shooting. Wash hands immediately if moving range bags.

4) I plan on doing a "pump and dump" session after shooting when baby is here.