• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Shooting prone with high powered rifles

scatter

NES Member
I inherited a Browning Medallion 30-06 from my dad, which he had bored out to a 308 Norma Magnum (this was the 70's...Norma Mag and Win Mag were like Beta and VHS. Win Mag won).

I put a new Burris 3x9 FullField II on it and have been trying to sight it in (at $3 a round I might add, until I collect enough brass to reload them). We've got 26 acres and I'm in the process of building a couple of ranges and benches, but for now my best option for sighting is to shoot prone off my deck.

Holy crap.

I am not a newbie to shooting high calibers and recoil; I could shoot 12ga most of the day without a problem. Love shooting my neighbor's 50 S&W and my BIL's 50 Beowulf. But prone with this rifle? The angle is different. The impact is nearer the top of the shoulder, not in the meat like when shooting from the bench or off hand. I shot 6 rounds day before yesterday, and planned on doing 4 more today to dial things in, but had to stop after 2. It's like getting hit by a car.

So my question is, am I doing something wrong? Or does shooting heavy calibers prone just mean you're going to pay for it?

Girly man comments expected, but not necessarily welcome.

No, you probably aren't doing anything wrong.

to confirm this, can you please weigh the rifle/scope combo.

If its under 10 lbs. I'm guessing it recoils like a motherF$#er.

One option is to have the bbl threaded and put a brake on it.

Get one of those recoil pad bras from Past. They help a lot.

BTW, I feel your pain. I inherited my granddad's sporterized 1917 Enfield re-chambered to 35 Whelen-Improved. With scope it weighs around 10lbs and after 7 shots I have a headache for the afternoon.

Last edited:
No, you probably aren't doing anything wrong.

to confirm this, can you please weigh the rifle/scope combo.