SIG P226 Airsoft Review

I searched all over the internet for a decent review of the Sig Airsoft pistols and couldn’t find one so, here is my own! This is my first Airsoft so let me disclaim right now I have no experience whatsoever with Airsoft. I do however own a Sig P226 in 9mm, so I’ll compare it to the real deal (herein referred to as the P226).

I purchased the Airsoft from a dealer: retail about $225, MSRP is $299. There is a lot of speculation as to how they differ from the KJW brand now sold without the Sig logos. Sig certainly has them made in Taiwan and the magazines are marked KJW. I don’t know about the KJW but the Sig Airsoft is all metal (lower, slide, and trigger).

The Airsoft and the P226 weigh about the same and even balance equally (P226 magazine loaded with fifteen 9 mm rounds). I don’t have a scale that measures to the oz. but they each weigh about 2.5 lbs.

Grips are very similar but upon close inspection are not exactly the same as my P226 (although they could match new production). The Airsoft trigger guard is smaller and the trigger shorter than a stock P226 but it’s about the same trigger distance as my short-trigger P226. There is also no stippling on the front strap of the Airsoft.

Trigger pull is adequate for practice but not as smooth as the P226. The Airsoft trigger is much lighter than the P226 in double action and slightly lighter in single. Considering it’s an Airsoft and the P226 has a superb trigger, the Airsoft trigger pretty good.

The biggest difference is the Airsoft action is much easier to operate. This Sig Airsoft has a blow-back feature so the recoil spring is very light. Going back and forth between the two makes the P226 seem like a bear to rack. The mag release and slide catch are also much easy to manipulate. I’m a little concerned I’ll get lazy with the racking the P226 if I use the Airsoft much.