Training with a .22?

Well, I'm pretty much a complete newbie so I have a lot to learn! I recently acquired a Ruger Speed Six revolver (38/357 2 3/4") as my first firearm and used it in the Personal Protection Outside the Home class last weekend. Prior to that, took Basic Pistol with a borrowed MkII pistol and the PP in the Home class with a borrowed Sig229 40S&W. I shoot 38s in the Speed Six at the range and find I'm limiting my practice due to ammo costs. So, I'm thinking a 22 of some sort might enable more practice firing but I'm wondering if this will really be beneficial? I want to practice at self defense distances, up to 30 ft or so, drawing from a holster, etc. and improve center of mass hits. What do you all think about the .22? If I do go that way, I'm thinking it would make sense to have it be as similar as possible to my SD firearm? So, a revolver in this case. Does this make sense? Or, would a semiauto 22 be equally useful?

Thanks in advance for your advice!

A .22 can be a valuable training tool, but the main lessons it can teach are sight alignment and trigger squeeze. You could potentially develop bad habits in other areas such as recoil management because of the differences there. The .22 has a place, but some live fire with full power loads is important to building and maintaining defensive skill sets. If you shoot a .38/.357 make sure you occasionally practice with the full power .357 loads you carry/have loaded for home defense, its good to know what to expect.

If a revolver is your defense weapon of choice I would recommend a .22 revolver to keep the manual of arms as close as possible.