USMC Boston PD question

Hey guys,

I'm getting out of the Marine Corps soon and was just wondering what my chances are of getting into Boston PD when I get out. I have been a resident of Boston for over a year and have read and meet all the requirements. I am 22 and I have been on multiple combat tours in Afghanistan. I am white, just wondering if that will hurt me or affect their decision at all. I will be receiving an Honorable discharge (not general under honorable). I have my high school diploma and some college credits. If anyone works there or could answer any questions or explain the process to me that would be awesome. I have already contacted their HR department and have talked with them but wanted to check on here to see if there were any Boston cops that could shed some light or give me some realistic probabilities or advice. Thank you very much for your help.

you're at the mercy of Civil Service. You could score a 110% on the test, perfect score and veterans preference included and still be #185 on the list. Sorry to say it, but you're not the right ethnic makeup.

you'd have a much better shot in a smaller town/city. Revere, Chelsea, Saugus, Canton, Stoughton, etc.

you're at the mercy of Civil Service. You could score a 110% on the test, perfect score and veterans preference included and still be #185 on the list. Sorry to say it, but you're not the right ethnic makeup.

you'd have a much better shot in a smaller town/city. Revere, Chelsea, Saugus, Canton, Stoughton, etc.

Or Mansfield![smile]

This. It really sucks that race plays a major role in choosing cops, but it applies for many jobs as well. Thanks for your service.

Hey guys,