WWII .38 S&W Revolver

When I received my LTC two months ago, my father gave me my grandfather's WWII sidearm. The revolver is in excellent condition and shoots like a charm. The only issue with it is that it chambers .38 S&W ammo, which is near impossible to find. I was able to get 200 rounds after a month of searching but once again I cannot find anymore. I was wondering if anyone had any experience reloading this ammo. I have no experience reloading myself but if it is the only way to continue to shoot the revolver, I am very willing to learn. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

All the Best,
Curtis

Same here, but I don't have any firearms chambered specifically to shoot it. Seems as though I have some old factory ammo in 38 S&W, too, but I'll have to dig it out to inventory it. You can find load data in most manuals. In fact, "Lyman Cast Bullet Handbook 3rd Edition" lists 5 cast bullets from 92g to 158g for the 38 S&W (aka .38 Colt New Police and 380Mk1). Please note that bullets are sized to .360" not .358" as in most 38 Spl/357 Magnums. You'll also find cautions about using modern load data for older top-break revolvers.

I'll throw this in for free...
It looks like the Ideal (Lyman) mold #358246 is the "Standard bullet for 38 S&W revolver. Case to crimp in top groove preventing bullet from receding. The extra band in front gives a longer bearing for the rifling. Powder charge 12 grains F F F g black, or 2 grains weight Hercules Bullseye powder..." (Ideal Hand Book #35)

Last edited:
I have 28 rounds of old Remington 38 S&W 146 gr. LRN Rem. If you want to take a ride out to Watertown, it's yours for the taking. I can help you out with reloading if you're considering a Dillon 550B press too.

-Kevin

I load it. What would you like to know?