Affordable Red Dot

Sam P

NES Member
As I have gotten older iron sights just don't cut it anymore. Some Red Dots are more than the price of the firearm you put it on. I do not carry for a living. I am just a range shooter. I understand you get what you pay for but does anyone have any experience with some of the more inexpensive Red Dots that will suffice for the ranger? The Dot Will be for handguns Glocks, Caniks and SIG.

Last edited:
I have holosun on my pistols and swampfox on my rifles. I went with those 2 specifically because they offer green dots (as well as red). I have an astigmatism, red dots look fuzzy for me.
Have you tried the 65moa circles with a dot in the middle? I don't know why but these looks pretty clear for those with astigmatism. HS503R if you don't want to pay the Eotech tax.

1715548368482.png

Have you tried the 65moa circles with a dot in the middle? I don't know why but these looks pretty clear for those with astigmatism. HS503R if you don't want to pay the Eotech tax.
agreed entirely for a range setup, until you get to the higher end holosun. i have a holosun AEMS and an eotech xps. i don't regret the AEMS (especially because I picked it up for a significant discount), but it's more than a $200 step down from the eotech.

agreed entirely for a range setup, until you get to the higher end holosun. i have a holosun AEMS and an eotech xps. i don't regret the AEMS (especially because I picked it up for a significant discount), but it's more than a $200 step down from the eotech.

Much longer battery life with the AEMS though.

As I have gotten older iron sights just don't cut it anymore. Some Red Dots are more than the price of the firearm you put it on. I do not carry for a living. I am just a range shooter. I understand you get what you pay for but does anyone have any experience with some of the more inexpensive Red Dots that will suffice for the ranger?