.22 Target shooting and 1911's

NES Member
I've been thinking of joining my clubs .22 target pistol team next year. Right now I don't have a .22 pistol worth using for this. I have been looking into the Advantage Arms "1911 Target Conversion Kit" for $350.

My questions,

1. Is anyone using 1911's for .22 target matches?
2. Would I be better off taking the $350 and put it toward something like a Ruger target model or similar.

To be honest, I don't know for sure if people use AA 1911 conversions in bullseye matches. I think they at least use Marvel conversions some. However, I've been using a Tactical Solutions 1911 conversion for a few months and when I think about it, at least the way mine worked out, it might be less than ideal for bullseye. First, they like high velocity ammo to be reliable. Typically, bullseye shooters use some sort of standard velocity ammo like Green Tag or something. Maybe using high velocity is fine, I just know it isn't the norm. Second, in order to get my conversion reliable I had to use heavy mainspring in, like 22# or 23#. The mainspring that was part of the lighter trigger jobs I was used to, #19 or 17#, didn't have the umph to set off .22s rimfires in my conversion. If your 1911 has a nice trigger, that's something to think about.

All that aside, I love having a 1911 .22 setup for cheap practice. A Ruger is nice too and really simple to set up.

More food for thought than answers to your questions.

Last edited:
$300 would buy you a Ruger Mk 3 bull barrel. $375 or so would get the same gun in stainless, which is what I bought. My thought is why buy a conversion kit when you can have a whole new gun. Also, Advantage Arms wants another $60 for the scope base, which is included with the rugers. In my experience, shooting iron sights on the poorly lit indoor ranges used for most bullseye matches is a recipe for frustration.