A funny flashback....

Skysoldier

Forum Curmudgeon
NES Member
I was at the hospital today, being wheeled on a gurney to have some tests. Part of the hospital had a long ramp, to get from one floor to another, and I was laying there and had a flashback to another hospital so very long ago.

It is a very funny story......allow me to tell it.

It was 1968, and the hospital was at Fort Campbell, Kentucky.

You old Nam vets will remember those hospitals. They had a loooong main corridor, with wards off each side that went on for blocks. The wards were all two stories high, and there were no elevators. All they had were these long ramps. You went up one ramp, did a switchback and up again to the upper floor.

Well, I had been a patient for almost 10 months, and was ready for discharge and reassignment. But they were shorthanded, what with that being one of the busiest years in Vietnam, and kept me around for another month. They put me in Hospital whites, and I worked as a transport orderly.

My job was to wheel patients from the emergency room to various wards, labs, x-ray, etc.

It was a fun job. I got to witness emergency room procedures, and sometimes the Doctors would show us how to do stitches and draw blood.

One Saturday night, they brought in a big (300lbs) SFC. He was a cook, and was brought in DOA. It seems he was drunk, and his wife allegedly shot him when he was coming in the door of his quarters late at night.

This guy was huge, and he laid there in the emergency room with this tiny 22 cal. bullet hole right thru his heart. "One shot, one Kill" [smile]

Needles to say, it was a busy night. The Provost Martial was there, along with a lot of MP's and CID investigators.

Well, along about two in the morning, all the investigating was done, and I was detailed to take the body to the morgue. My other buddy was out in the parking lot smooching with a nurse, so I decided to just take him myself. Big Mistake!