Anschutz 1427 Biathlon Rifles

colt_fan

NES Member
Does anyone here have experience with the 96 rear micrometer sight?
http://www.championshooters.com/store/product.php?productid=775

I bought a few inexpensive target rifles for my biathlon program without rear sights. I figure that for $50, compared to a few hundred, that they would be good enough. Keep in mind that we are aiming to shoot out a 9 ring prone and to get on black at 50 meters. I don't know what a X ring is. :)

Last edited:
I have no direct experience with them, but I think that they should work ok. Summer or Winter Biathlon? If for Winter, I would be a little concerned with how robust they are.

I think it's the same sight that comes on the Crossman Challenger and the Daisy Avanti from CMP.

B

They will be used for summer and winter biathlon. Since these rifles will be used by beginners, they will be racked and not carried. I have 4 of the Savage rifles with the Lyman sights that have held up well.

The new old rifles I got are Anschutz biathlon rifles from the 80s. Hopefully I will have them in hand next week. They also do not come with any magazines, so I need to locate some of them as well.

Last edited:
The older sights certainly are very robust however I think you made a good choice for the money. Please report back about their use as I'm curious and please post pictures of the event if you have an opportunity. I think Biathalon is a very cool sport and probably would have become involved in my youth had there been opportunities. Kudos to you.

I think keeping them racked/on the point is a good idea. Saves wear and tear on the gear.

B

Colt_Fan,

That sight looks almost identical to the one I have on my 10 meter air rifle. It is a very good sight for the money. I have had no issues with it keeping accuracy and we can even walk pellet into the same hole at 25 yrds with it. Good luck with it.

2011-10-15_08-03-38_759.jpg