CMP/HighPower - Acceptable Rifles?

MaverickNH

NES Member
Wondering about rifles used in typical CMP/HighPower competitions. When they say AR-15 service rifles, just how specific is that in terms of make, brand, model, caliber?

I have a BushMaster Shorty A2 that's pretty stock, but has a welded/pinned muzzle brake (which will be loud for neighbors) and fixed A1 stock, as I bring it into MA. That's my only AR-15. I have other 223/556 rifles all on SIG556 platform - one set up with a EOTech XPS3-4 and 3x-Magnifier and one set up with a Leupold 3-9x40 scope. Also a SIG556R in 762x39 with a 3x-ACOG and a REM700 in 308 with scope set up for long range shooting.

None excellent choices as AR-15 service rifles for competition, I might guess.

http://www.odcmp.com/competitions/rulebook.pdf
Scroll down to page 28 for the CMP "Service Rifle" definitions.
NRA usually goes by CMP rules. Make and model is not an issue. I'm not 100% sure if they are allowing short barrels or not. I see the rule says "barrels no longer than 20". The brake is an issue.

As a new (to high-power) shooter, you will probably be allowed to shoot almost anything you bring to a regular NRA Match. For a CMP EIC Match, you might still be allowed to shoot what you have, but in the event you were "in the money" for any awards, your score would not be eligible.

Last edited:
Wondering about rifles used in typical CMP/HighPower competitions. When they say AR-15 service rifles, just how specific is that in terms of make, brand, model, caliber?

I have a BushMaster Shorty A2 that's pretty stock, but has a welded/pinned muzzle brake (which will be loud for neighbors) and fixed A1 stock, as I bring it into MA. That's my only AR-15. I have other 223/556 rifles all on SIG556 platform - one set up with a EOTech XPS3-4 and 3x-Magnifier and one set up with a Leupold 3-9x40 scope. Also a SIG556R in 762x39 with a 3x-ACOG and a REM700 in 308 with scope set up for long range shooting.