• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Banks, Credit-Card Companies Explore Ways to Monitor Gun Purchases

rep308

NES Member
Banks, Credit-Card Companies Explore Ways to Monitor Gun Purchases -
The discussions are preliminary but the move could be a prelude to restricting such transactions

Page 1 WSJ 4/30/2018

Banks, Credit-Card Companies Explore Ways to Monitor Gun Purchases

I have a paid subscription, this is the part that shows up if you don't:
-----
Banks and credit-card companies are discussing ways to identify purchases of guns in their payment systems, a move that could be a prelude to restricting such transactions, according to people familiar with the talks.

The discussions are preliminary but could be deeply controversial. Gun-rights groups have long resisted any effort to monitor which Americans own guns; there are federal laws limiting the government’s use of electronic databases of gun sales.
----
I always try and use cash as I am wary of being tracked for anything related to firearms. People use to think I was paranoid. First guns, then booze, then sugar doughnuts...

So the credit card companies (banks), now think that "they" are the government, and have designated themselves as overseeing & controlling the freedoms of citizens?

Banks can do whatever they please. Private entities. As long as they're upfront about it.
I'm also free to leave and go to some bank that isn't staffed by f***sticks.

I just find it funny how... Citi finances DAPL, a giant liberal ralling cry, but refuses to do business with "new" gun customers (read: we don't want to lose money but want to gain approval by virtue signaling)

It's all about the money. Banks would support the legalization and promotion of heroin to kids if they thought it would make them a net profit.