Beginner rifle training techniques

Prepper

NES Member
While I've had a simple Ruger 10/22 (scoped) for a few years, I'm still a relative beginner when it comes to rifles. What are good ways to become more proficient with it? I'd like to make my times at the range more productive somehow, rather than just guessing and doing whatever.

First, I'm not even 100% sure that I'm holding it the best way. Is there a good description (with video or pics) somewhere?

Also, do most people practice with a rest, or holding it freely while standing, or both? I've been trying both, and I'm much happier with the results when using a rest (but is that "cheating" somehow?). What makes a good rest? All I've been using so far is one that's designed for a pistol which I then place on the table, then put the barrel on. I bet I can do better though but I'm confronted with a choice of bipods, monopods, shooting sticks, sand bags, etc. What should I get and practice with? (Note that I probably wouldn't be able to do any practice from an on-my-stomach position at the range... either sitting or standing, so that needs to be considered when choosing what I buy.)

Also, any good classes that would help out, something preferably no more than a day in length? I don't have loads of money to spend so these multi-day courses would be a bit much. And I'm not looking for something "advanced" like combat training, etc., just good shooting techniques to improve accuracy.

While I've had a simple Ruger 10/22 (scoped) for a few years, I'm still a relative beginner when it comes to rifles. What are good ways to become more proficient with it? I'd like to make my times at the range more productive somehow, rather than just guessing and doing whatever.

First, I'm not even 100% sure that I'm holding it the best way. Is there a good description (with video or pics) somewhere?