• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Expired LTC question.

My LTC expired a year ago. I am a nurse. The last year at work was extremely crazy, my father had a lengthy battle with Covid, I never received anything in the mail reminding me that my LTC was expiring soon, and I have 3 kids. Because of all this I have put renewing it on the back burner until now. Should I explain all this to my local PD, or just start the application process all over again? Also, will owning guns during this process pose any issues? Will they be confiscated or destroyed if I explain my situation to my local PD? I live in Mass and I have not been carrying since it lapsed. Any help would be appreciated.

I would just ask my local pd how to do it. I've heard some started over and some just renewed. I assume depends on town.
I wouldn't worry about any guns. I also wouldn't bring it up.

Just my 2 cents IANAL

Good luck . And I hope your 2022 is better

Another up vote for @appraiser .

Give your guns to a friend to hold onto (a friend with an LTC)

Go down and submit renewal paperwork. Just submit and don't tell any stories or talk more than necessary to submit. Keep it simple.

It is not a criminal offense to possess your firearms with an expired LTC, but a civil one. As long as it was not revoked and as long as you did not renew and get a denial, you are forever immune from criminal prosecution for possession.

I've let my license expire twice over the years. Last time was in Boston several years ago. When I renewed, they said, "You know, you should have taken care of this earlier." and then they expedited it so I wouldn't "get myself in trouble" No one mentioned anything about penalties or legal consequences. Mind you, this was Boston, you're probably fine wherever you are. Just approach it straight on.